Snow day: I think I’ll post a lot of television stuff

Here’s what I wrote on Super Bowl Sunday for the Post-Tribune:

Hmmmm, what’s on TV tonight?

As if you didn’t know. 

As if all of Northwest Indiana didn’t know that it’s the Colts v. Da Bears in the Super Bowl.  I think you’d have to be some kind of disconnected if you didn’t know that.

Of course, having said that, you know that I do know some people who are not at all concerned with large men tossing a ball in the air or each other on the ground.
I even know some people who are not the least bit interested in the commercials that air during the Super Bowl.

I work in Chicago, but not with a group I considered to be all that interested in football.

WRONG!

One woman, whom I would have cast in the category of least likely to know about football, at all, let alone who was playing in the Super Bowl castigated me for my lack of vigor about this particular matchup—I mean, it’s the Region team vs. the State team. Shouldn’t I care a whit?

Not me.

Actually, that’s not true. And, for what it might get me in some corners of this Region, I will say, I am not so much for the Colts as I am AGAINST the Bears.

Yep, I said it.  I did. I said it. I don’t like the Bears.

And that one woman who I didn’t think knew anything about the Bears said, “but you’ve got to love Lovie, I mean, how can you not love a guy named Lovie?”

I wasn’t having any of it.

“Well, how ‘bout this, then,” she tried her best to coax me into liking the Bears, “he’s the first African American coach … oh, yeah, the other guy is, too.”

This may be the part that makes the whole thing interesting to me, listening to all the hype about the first time two African American coaches have brought teams to the Super Bowl. First time ever.

Do you suppose they’ll talk about how many years when African Americans weren’t allowed in management positions in the NFL and why? Nah, I didn’t think so.

It is exciting–almost as exciting as having the first female Speaker of the House.

And yet, and yet … it leaves me wondering this: why has it taken so long to have two African American head coaches in the Super Bowl, a woman as Speaker of the House, and an African American man AND a woman running for the office of president for the very first time?

Why, indeed.

And I’ll wonder all this as I drink my beer and eat some guacamole and watch the television ads and wonder if this year’s game will be any good at all. Could it possibly be any better than the last quarter of that last Colts’ game?

Could it?

So, yes, you’ve caught me. I am a little bit interested. And I will watch the game. And, if it’s any good, I’ll even get into it and cheer a bit.

And I’ll laugh if there are any funny commercials, and be adequately shocked if there are any wardrobe malfunctions. Still, in the back of my mind, that question: why, indeed?

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Television. Bookmark the permalink.