Channeling Roseanne Rosannadanna

“It just goes to show ya; it’s always something.”

What else can you say?  The engine light is on in the car and despite piles of snow everywhere the outside temperature indicator told me it was 100 degrees this a.m.

Then there’s the kid who is still sick after attending exactly 1 day of school last week (why couldn’t she have started getting sick on the snow days?).  And now the news from the mother of the friend she was supposed to have a play date with today (because it is a holiday, you know): there’s a virus going around.  The friend’s mother is an ER nurse who just worked a 12-hour shift with kid after kid after kid coming through with the same symptoms her daughter had two weeks ago and my kid now has.  She assures me there’s nothing I can do but wait it out and give her Motrin/Tylenol–unless her cough becomes unmanagable.  And then the other shoe drops: it’s a seven-day virus.

And I have just scheduled a bunch of interviews for the video I am “producing” (for lack of a better word) for the school.  And, of course, those interviews begin before the 7-day period is over.  And, I’ve just paid for another week of before-school kid care that I never used before and won’t get refunded if I don’t take her in because she is sick.

So, I say again, “it just goes to show ya; it’s always something.” 

Always, always, always something.

Edited:  I just posted this, then went to UUpdates and read this about a tragic “always something.”  So, I’m humbled and done whining and am putting it all in perspective. And am signing off to go watch the Harry Potter marathon with my sick kid and her probably going to get sick soon sisters.

Pray for health and Lysol.

Amen.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Weird Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Channeling Roseanne Rosannadanna

  1. Paul Martin says:

    But better than incurable progressive illness! My perspective on problems has become all too warped as I became first housebound now semi bedridden after 12 years of struggling first with misdiagnosis and in the end coming up with none – even NIH and Johns Hopkins, for example, couldn’t figure it out.

    As I lost more and more ground I came to see how the more and more basic something is, the more priceless it tends to be. Unfortunately I’m the same as everybody in that “you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.”

    I just wish I could bottle the joy I felt the last time I was able to walk to the end of my driveway. Hadn’t been out for a couple months at that point, and maybe it was a sensory deprivation thing, but the light – it was night, low illumination – seemed incandescent. Everything just glowed.

    Like

  2. Suz says:

    I’ve been a slacker reader.

    Sorry to hear that the flu bug has hit your home. We had a bout of it a while back and i was walking around from room to room with the Lysol spraying door knobs, remotes, faucet handles, phones. Ok. Anything people touch! I was a mad woman!

    Hope everyone is healthy again soon!

    ~Suz~

    Like

  3. Jan says:

    Glad to see Roseanne is alive and well. I have missed her. Sorry you are having to deal with, yet again, that flu. If you lived across the street from a grandmother, might have some help. What can I do from across the country?

    Stay well and keep the lysol handy. Love to all

    Like

Comments are closed.