Sick kid update – The Mumps!

Who gets the mumps these days?  Apparently, my kid.  And probably the other, and then the other.  Happy Spring Break to Us!

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Parenting, Weird Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick kid update – The Mumps!

  1. The mumps!?! Good Lord. And Good Luck.

    Like

  2. kaleigh says:

    Yikes, mom! So sorry that’s how you’ll be spending spring break. (Even sorrier that’s how SHE’ll be spending it.) I remember somewhere hearing that photophobia is a common symptom of mumps. So make sure she’s in the dark (I think).

    Hopefully the shot worked on the other kids (and you!!!) and you won’t be dealing with this for the next month.

    Like

  3. uuMomma says:

    Hi LE:

    No, really, I needed the perspective. But I still can’t fathom this. I mean, what were all those MMRs for? “How the heck can she get mumps?” you ask, and all I can say is “I don’t have a freakin’ clue.” But I love the twists your mind takes and I shall be sure to use this to my advantage someday. Til then, just got to find a way to keep her isolated and comfortable!

    Like

  4. Lizard Eater says:

    Egad! No, no intention in putting you anywhere. “In your place” — the mom of a kid with mumps??? I believe that “your place” should be on a sunny beach, with a Pina Colada in one hand and some fried cheese in the other.

    Oooh, I’ll join you …

    How the heck did your kid get the mumps? Well, I am a twisted mom and you can bet that I’d be using this experience in future (older) years to explain why safe-sex is necessary. “Yeah, sure, I know that you think it could never happen to you … but we thought mumps couldn’t happen to you, either!”

    (In no way insinuating that mumps happened because of any inappropriate … oh, YOU know. You’re a mom. We’ll take anything and make it a lesson. I’ve already decided that when Little Warrior is a teen and does something really stupid like get in a car with someone who has been drinking, I’m going to make her write a letter of apology to her oncologist and surgeon, promising not to chance undoing their work again.)

    But I’m a Twisted Mama.

    Like

Comments are closed.