Update for the Mamas

Thanks again, to all of you who responded to my call.  Here’s the dish:

She and I went shopping yesterday and so, while driving, I brought it up since she had not.  “Remember how you asked me…”  She blushed (good sign) and dipped her head a bit, “yeah.”

I told her I’d been wondering why she would want to know that, told her in no uncertain terms that I wasn’t going to answer that question until we are both “grown-up women” if then, even.  I told her I want her to ask me what she wants to know and I would try my best to answer, but that she had to let me have an “out of bounds” flag I could throw whenever she asked something that was more personal than I wanted to share.  I told her this wasn’t a story I shared with many people, and that there are others I may not share with her.  I even went straight for the “eewww factor” by saying something like “you wouldn’t want to know about what your dad and I do, so why would you want to ask this?” 

“Oh. Mom. That’s just gross,” she said. 

Communication open; boundaries set.  All is right with the world.

(Even right-er— she finally realized that all those teen romance books she’s been devouring like M&Ms have the same tired plot.  Could this be where such questions come from?)

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update for the Mamas

  1. Jan says:

    Great ending to a wonderful story. Love to all

    Like

  2. Hallelujah!
    (But I think you need to change that tag to “Good Mom.”)

    Like

Comments are closed.