Modern Love Notes

No, not from my husband, but from my child. And it is the same child who thinks to do it each time. She alters the banner that is printed on my cell phone, so that when I open it to answer or place a call, there it is, a nice little note from home.  “Vacation was Great” was the first one, right after our trip to Portland last summer. Then, one day, this appeared: “We love you, Mommy!”  And, since the day I last stood in the pulpit, leading my lay sermon, my phone has read “Nice job today.” 

I like that one.  It’s like my own personal Stuart Smalley affirmation. No matter if it isn’t true TODAY, it was true another day, or at least in the eyes of that beloved middle kid who knows just what to say, how to say it, and when.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Parenting, Weird Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Modern Love Notes

  1. Jan says:

    Aren’t you glad you have 3 kids so you could have a “middle”?

    Great job all four Porter girls and one Porter guy!

    Hugs to all of you!

    Like

  2. Nice job, Momma. Nice job, middle kid. Middle kids are great that way…

    Like

  3. mskitty says:

    Nice job today, Momma.

    Like

  4. jacqueline says:

    I love that. I have all of these notes my daughter (now 17) has left for me around the house over the years. It helps when life is kind of messy to know that there is super love out there!

    Like

Comments are closed.