7 Things Meme

mom‘ at outside the (toy) box tagged me for the Seven Things mem.  mom found me through Radicalmama, whom she also tagged for this and I can’t wait to read what she has to say.  But if you are UU you should know that so is mom. So, go to her site and read about her child’s naming and dedication ceremony. 

Back to the meme: I’m supposed to share 7 random things about me and then tag seven people, which I probably won’t do, because I did tag all the people I’m comfortable tagging when I did the 8 random things meme (which was really boring, so don’t look for it).  Here’s my list:

  1. I don’t forward things people send me through email unless they are specific requests for specific people.  (which, I think, makes me a very poor candidate for memes…see above). If it ends with any phrase starting with “send this or….” I don’t. So, I’m probably in line for really bad things or really good things, depending on how you look at it.  I may be losing some friends, but I’m retaining others who don’t get these kinds of email from me.
  2. I like to watch Poker on television.  Even more, I like to play Poker (would love to play on television, too, but I really suck, which gets me invited to lots of tournaments).  The fact that I usually am “watching” poker while knitting generally cracks people up.  If they saw me in my granny glasses, knitting while yelling “No, Daniel, don’t do it!” I think they’d get an even bigger kick out of it.  I know my kids get a kick out of it.
  3. I love my children.  Yeah, I know.  For some people that doesn’t seem to be a random fact that needs stating, but these days, with hormones waxing (them) and waning (me), I think it absolutely needs to be said.  I think they are going to be pretty fun and funny adults, and I know that the next few years hold challenges I have yet to name, but I really do love them.  Honest.
  4. I like to pretend that I am the inspiration for the Diane character on Cheers (if you don’t know what Cheers is, skip ahead, you are too young).  Here’s my story: between my sophomore and junior years in college, I worked as a Hostess at an upscale hamburger pavillion in West Hollywood.  The job SUCKED (you must read that as if I’ve just run a bell and the sound is still hanging out there.  Thank you.).  There were these three guys who came in either all together or in groups of two who would generally head for the sliver of a bar at the back of the restaurant and spend time drinking (very little) and yukking it up with the bartender.  The bartender used to call me back there and tease me, knowing I would quit working as soon as school started up again.  Mostly he teased me about wanting to write and I remember one time him asking me pointedly what I wanted to write about and when I said something dreamy like oh, you know, fiction, stories and such, he said “well what about TV?” and I said, “oh, I could never…” and then went into this very long rant about how unsophisticated television writing was (this was the days of the Love Boat and Fantasy Island, which I watched WAY too much of).  And, of course, two or three of those guys were sitting there, listening, giggling.  Yeah.  I was a prude and a stuck up snob–and, though I mostly wore jeans, shorts and t-shirts back then, when I worked I had to wear skirts (not slacks), so I was always in pantyhose and heels and dumb little outfits just like Diane wore.  That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. 
  5. At that same job, I had a hard time seeing the empty table right in front of me when they guy who played Scorpion on General Hospital came in with his agent or some other such person.  He finally had to point it out to me, as I was too busy looking at him to see anything else.
  6. I still can’t believe I disdained television in front of the three guys who most influenced television in the next decade or two.  Especially when you consider how much I really do like watching television.
  7. Always Red Vines.  Never, ever, ever Twizzlers.

There you go.  More than you ever wanted to know.  If you feel like playing, tag yourself.  Thanks, mom: Good to meet you!

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Television, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7 Things Meme

  1. uuMomma says:

    Hold ’em, of course.

    Like

  2. OMG – how hilarious! Maybe you were the inspiration for Diane!

    So – Five Card Stud or Texas Hold’em?

    Like

  3. uuMomma says:

    doh! I forgot the end of the story: School didn’t start up again for us until well into September, and one night I was working and the bartender calls me back. He had the TV on over the bar and said, “know those guys who keep coming in here, those three guys? This is the show they’ve been working on all summer.” It was the premier of Cheers. Yep. They were really tv writers.

    Like

  4. mom says:

    Far from boring — the poker/knitting combo is hilarious and sounds exactly like my Mother! The Cheers things is unreal — were they really TV writers? Really?

    Nice to meet you too!

    Like

Comments are closed.