Did I mention the dishwasher broke, too?

My husband’s been out of town, home again soon. We girls have been running around lots. Yesterday I went straight from work to deliver two to their horn lessons, picked them up in the rain with the youngest one an hour later, off to the library, then Pan-uh-rah for bagels and soup, then to Target for cat food.  There’s something terribly weird about standing in Target in the middle of December at 8:30 on a school night holding only a bag of cat food.  Everyone around me was rushing and had overflowing baskets of plastic and paper and bows.  And I had catfood.  And I have yet to start my holiday shopping.

Tonight, youngest went with neighbors whilst oldest worked the concession stand at the middle school and middlest stayed home, doing homework. Just after oldest called to say she was done (I was still ten minutes from home), youngest called to ask if she could stay with neighbors. I picked up middlest on the way to pick up oldest and the three of us went to Staples to buy padded envelopes and poster board. Then Taco Bell in the rain and home, where my pajamas, a beer (maybe two), M&Ms and Pride & Prejudice may make the rest of the day palatable.

Here’s a sample of how this day went: the highlight? My hair, which had a Carol Brady flip going on the bottom and a Mary Tyler Moore funny hair bump on the top.  Yes, THAT was the highlight of this particular day.

But, on the flip side, yesterday had a very wonderful happy bit: when we went to the library and we were checking out, the woman behind the counter asked me if I used to write for the paper.  “Yes I did,” I answered.

“I miss it,” she said.

I pulled oldest daughter to me and said, laughing, “it’s all her fault.”

The woman smiled at my daughter and said “You? You’re the one who ruined my Sunday.”

Maybe ruined her Sunday, but it made my day.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Weird Family Stuff, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did I mention the dishwasher broke, too?

  1. mom says:

    Oh – that’s so wonderful. You must have felt 4 inches taller!

    Like

  2. radical mama says:

    Sounds like you found the perfect solution to the end of your day! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.