Beauty, Actually

(Updated 4/4/08: Feel called to say what seems obvious to me, this was inspired entirely by the opening words of the movie, Love Actually–which if you have not seen, you must, even though it is a Christmas movie and which you may not wish to watch with your children because of some nakey bits and some refreshingly adult humor and language.)

In want of beauty
I’m looking
for relief and inspiration
for my weary eyes
my weary heart
my longing soul

Like love
Like God
I open my eyes
and find

a bloom in a weed by the side of a highway
dirty from old salt, old snow, old crashes

in a smile, gap-toothed, with a ring
of dried saliva, there
around my own child’s lips
clamboring to kiss me goodbye

in the twitching of a cat’s tail
as that cat stares, achingly,
at what an early Spring morning
brings to our front window:
birds, all atwitter,
his own personal wide-screen entertainment

Like love,
Like God,
Beauty is, actually,
All around.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beauty, Actually

  1. wow. Thanks for this…

    Like

  2. Jan says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you. How lovely.

    Like

  3. ollka says:

    What a lovely poem.

    Like

  4. uuMomma says:

    Thanks, all.

    Scott–I didn’t know that poem, so googled it. Thank you for pointing it out to me. She is so good.

    Like

  5. Beautiful, uuMomma! Do you know Mary Oliver’s poem “Gravel”? That’s my all-time favorite poem about beauty.

    Like

  6. Veronica says:

    I agree a very lovely go at poetic expression.

    Like

  7. mskitty says:

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful, Momma. Beautiful. Thank you.

    Like

Comments are closed.