Mild and Wild Milestones

So this week marked a couple of milestones for our household:

  • Youngest daughter lost her last baby tooth.  True to form at our house, the ToothFairy blew it and forget to appear until an entire day later. We have the lamest ToothFairy, ever.  Especially for youngest daughter, who, like most youngest daughters, is patient and knows who to complain to without really complaining.
  • We attended our last elementary school “talent” show (and yes, the word is in quotes for a reason). Until we have grandchildren, I do not foresee any reason to attend another one of these nights of terror and delight.  It was slightly less painful than when eldest child sang a Sheryl Crowe song a capella, but only slightly less.
  • Same eldest daughter had her first official “in car” driving class.  She has driven the car with all of us in it; most notably last Sunday when there was still ice along the side of the road and she decided that’s where she wanted to be.  It wasn’t until the ride home when we stopped for sub sandwiches and her father took the wheel that the enormity of that drive sunk in. She said her driving instructor had warned that their parents would yell at them more than the instructors, “cause you love us and they don’t” she said.  And because you hold the lives of your entire family in those hands clutched to the wheel. Scary?  Yep.  I think when they give kids learner’s permits it should come with a valium perscription for the parents.  We had coffee with Bailey’s, instead, and much later.
  • Middle daughter took the SAT on Saturday.  I’m not sure why.  Neither is she.  But she did it and is no longer frightened of it.  I don’t think I could have done that at 13. It didn’t help that the high school counselors arrived at the middle school earlier this week to scare the crap out of the students who care and irritate the piss out of the other students who don’t and probably won’t–the exact opposite, I’m guessing, of what they intended.  It’s the whole “permanent record” scare tactic.  Backed up, of course, by the fact that students with phenomenal GPAs are not getting into state schools like they used to.  (And, as the producte of a large State University, I’d have to say, I’d rather my girls chose small liberal arts colleges for their undergrad, prepping them for grad school rather than burning them out in the process.)
  • Riffing off the last bullet, we blew off the parent’s “intro” meeting at the high school this week.  I went last year and cannot recall ever feeling so angry when I left a school meeting before (except the Parent-Teacher conference for said child who just took the SAT early who very nearly failed 4th grade for not turning in her completed homework, but that’s another story).  We blew off the meeting to go to a bar.  Yep.  (Husband’s cousin turned 50.  Her husband nearly died this past year.  She’s not nearly as worried about 50 as she was about 40.  All about perspective.)  But that meeting?  It was all about telling us not to let our kids drink in the house, don’t be the “cool” parent, and whatever we do, don’t shoot up in front of them.  Okay, so it wasn’t as bad as that last one, but whenever school officials say “and of course we probably don’t have to tell you this, because you came to the meeting” I want to yank their vocal chords from their throats for wasting my time while villifying all the parents who have to work nights and/or two or three jobs to cover the costs of keeping their children in cold medicine and clothing and digging deeper trenches between those who show up and those who don’t.  This makes me think I want to keep the ToothFairy around a bit longer.  She was lame, but she kept us tied to being little. 
  • I read a book and when I was done I handed it to eldest daughter and said “I think you’d like this.”  I include this because it is the first “adult fiction” that I’ve suggested she read and she has almost finished it (she apparently reads three books at once: one stays in her backpack for school, one by her bedside and another near the bathtub). “I love it!” she said.  I did, too.  We have more than Harry Potter in common. Yay!
  • Oh, and what about that new President thing!  “All those who love peace and justice say Amen.  Say Amen.  Say Amen”

Amen.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mild and Wild Milestones

  1. Daisy says:

    All these milestones! The tooth, the driving, and (although not personal, very significant) Obama’s inauguration. I taught my daughter to drive, and every time I consider getting my “license” to teach drivers’ ed, I remind myself that they’re not all as responsive and responsible as she was.
    No, I still don’t have that license. I’ll stick to teaching in the classroom.

    Like

  2. Jess says:

    I am so glad that we are not alone with the lame Tooth Fairy thing. Sometimes it’s a week before she shows up. Oy.

    Like

  3. Amen. Amen. Amen.
    And I’m glad I went to a Big State University. I met the love of my life there. 🙂

    Like

  4. mskitty says:

    Oh yes, on the small liberal arts college—I would have been miserable in a huge pond like a State U. I had a wonderful four years at Linfield College.

    Now I gotta go see what the book is.

    Like

  5. Care says:

    Amen.

    I wish I had considered a small liberal arts school for college… big state school was fun, but…

    I have to go find out what book you are talking about now. Guess I should have clicked over before writing this comment…

    Like

Comments are closed.