The ax, revisited

It was just last year I saw the tip of the iceberg when my mother’s neighbor chased his wife around the house with an ax.  No one died there.  But now, people are killing their loved ones and themselves over … what?

I was watching the ticker at the bottom of the screen on MSNBC last night as the treasurey secretary took his oath.  20,000 jobs cut; 4,000 jobs cut; 5,000 jobs cut.  I’m scared now.  Are you?

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The ax, revisited

  1. leakelley says:

    Kelly expresses my sentiments well.
    I am hoping, thankful, and afraid also.

    Like

  2. Kelly says:

    This very thing is what I was referring to yesterday. I am just trying to breathe and stay focused on each moment. My ex-husband is being laid off this week (who pays child support which pays our mortgage), and my husband has had virtually no work in the last 4 weeks.

    You can either face it with love and faith and keep trying, or you can give in to despair. I was so sad to hear that story you posted earlier today. This is why we need to reach out to each other and create community for those who can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel (and it may be far away, indeed).

    Every morning, I just thank the universe for the many things I have to be grateful for.

    Like

  3. karen says:

    I heard this in class yesterday, in response to the idea that we’ve already done so much damage to our earth that we’ll have reached a point of no return within 10 years: in facing our own extinction, what matters is how we act in the face of it.

    Like

Comments are closed.