One of my favorite poems

… was written by a boy in Minnesota named Lombard and was caputred by Natalie Goldberg in Wild Mind.  Just read it again this a.m. when I picked up my battered old copy of the oft-used source of inspiration.  And here was his poem:

Chicken and the car
won’t go
spells Chicago
smells pretty good.

If you ask me why I like this poem I won’t be able to tell you.  I just know that I remember it often. I remember it because when I first read it I was deep into Wild Mind and was exploring my wild mind for the first time all over again. This poem cracked me open in intangible ways.  Smells pretty good.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.