Sisters … and worship without music?

So I haven’t done as much “ketching up” as I thought I would do this week. Except with my sister. You can read and about her take on our visit here and here (though I think she is incredibly biased and has to play down the fact that I am her younger sister by only posting incredibly unflattering photos of me). If that was all I did on my vacation, I’d be content. I forget how much I enjoy her company and crave being “sisters” when she is gone, so this visit was one I will treasure. (Here’s my take on the visit … not really, but I was reminded.)

At one point, in the midst of a heated game of “dice” (aka 10,000, aka a lot of other names), she and I were sitting next to each other and my eldest two sat opposite us, making fun of us for our loud and energetic play. And one said something like “you know we’re going to be like Mom and Aunt Nita some day?” and the other one said “I hope so.”  High praise. And it is enough.

Next on the list: preparing a sermon without a music director.  Which bums me out, but alos forces me to be a bit outside the box. I’ve been interested in reading blogs about making worship more relevant and I know that one of the best answers is through music and I would love it if we could do this, but am not sure we can. We have a great music director who leads the choir quite well, but what he doesn’t do well is lead the congregation (because he is playing the piano or organ while the congregation is singing), and I would love it if we had someone in the church who could/would do that part of it. But, alas, I gave him permission to take the day off, so this is all my doing–this service without structured music thing.

I know we’ll be singing “Come, Come Whoever You Are” a capella, perhaps even as the prelude, and I know I’m going to ask some people to bring drums for parts of the music, but beyond that, I’m still trying to figure out how the whole service will roll out.  We can probably squeak out “Spirit of Life,” as well.  Knowing me, we will sing rounds which can be good without accompaniment. I may ask kid 2 if she wants to play the piano during the offering.  Getting there.

But, the music is only a part. One of the things I’m aiming to do in this service is speak to the whole congregation–meaning being relevant to all ages and all understandings of UUism–and that’s the harder challenge than doing music without help.  Because, well, music is such a huge part of doing that sometimes.  So, I’m without my crutch.

Maybe I’ll just show that video …

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Unitarian Universalism. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sisters … and worship without music?

  1. uuMomma says:

    Thanks for the suggestions, lrgl! This is why I like rounds: people sing them rather than read them…at least eventually. And, they are great for involving the kids who don’t read. I’llk eep you posted.

    Like

  2. Just one suggestion: people can certainly sing without accompaniment, but they won’t do it very well without leadership. Everyone waits to hear the next note, to be sure they’re still with the program, and so the music slows and slows and slows as everyone waits for everyone else.

    Just be up there waving your arm rhythmically and all will be well. See if you can get people to just listen to the words and then sing them without staring at a book. They’ll enjoy it more.

    Have fun, and let us know how it went!

    Like

Comments are closed.