We Are More than We Think

I want to ask you (and me) this question today and every day: Do you know–I mean deeply at the root of your being know–that you are not only enough but that you are essential?

I spent the morning with Sweet Honey in the Rock on my iPod and found myself weeping with the realization that I have sold myself–and you–short. I keep thinking I am not enough and that the work I do is only ancillary, unimportant. And then I started hearing the words. And I started thinking about my kids. And I started thinking about my church and this faith tradition.

And I wept.

Do you know? Really know?

It is a minute-by-minute learning, isn’t it?

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Grace, Parenting, Prayer, Unitarian Universalism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We Are More than We Think

  1. Sara says:

    I struggle to know this. In fact, I almost always feel like I’m not quite good enough, and the idea of being Enough, just as I am, is a concept I’m always trying to learn. Love Sweet Honey, also!

    Like

  2. Thank you. I’ve been suffering not a small amount of existenial angst lately, wondering if I’m doing anything right in this world. Your post and linked piece brought more tears and a bit of light. I’m looking forward to reading more of your work.

    Like

  3. Lizard Eater says:

    Between this and your poem, you are making me weepy, Momma … in a very good way.

    You are enough and you are perfect and over the years, you have had a more profound effect on the world (including me personally) than you can ever know.

    Like

    • uuMomma says:

      Thank you, LE, for the comment. What struck me today is the idea that I don’t think my children feel a sense of their own ability to make change and affect the world for the positive. I think we adults tell them too often that we are leaving them with a debt they can’t handle. We don’t often enough tell them “I have faith in you and your creativity and your willingness to do the right and good thing.” I’m coming to remember that I need to be more explicit about saying this–not only to my children, but the others I encounter.

      Like

Comments are closed.