By any means possible

Inspired by the UU Blogger’s Workshop and by Rev. Meg Riley’s latest Quest for Meaning Reflection, I went back to the beginnings of this blog. I just read my New Year’s Eve column from 2006 and my heart broke open again. Not from anything I wrote, but by a comment left there by my other mother, the mother of my childhood (and lifelong) best friend. She passed last year. And I miss her, very much. I was about to write “even though” most of our last interactions were “virtual,” but I stopped. One thing I’ve learned in my years of blogging and posting to Facebook is this: connection is not virtual. The medium may be, but you can love and care for others and send it via electronic means as well as face-to-face and hand-to-hand. Sometimes it has to be heart-to-heart–by any means possible.

Another thing I’ve learned: death doesn’t defeat love; it just changes the medium of communication, yet again. With love to all who touch my life by any means possible …

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to By any means possible

  1. Pingback: We share the world with people; and more from UU bloggers « : The Interdependent Web

Comments are closed.