Almost 1:00 on a Saturday

… and I am still in my pajamas. And I am not sick. My stomach is rumbling because I am just that lazy–can’t even bring myself to get up and have a Snicker’s bar with my cold coffee. The one daughter who still lives at home just rolled out of bed her own self on the penultimate day of her Spring break. We have a date planned since I’ve seen very little of her these last two weeks, but it appears mostly what we have planned is a sloth-fest.

Had you told me this day would come 14 years ago, I would not have believed you. I am here to testify to the moms coming up behind me that there will be a day when this is possible–or, better yet, a day when you actually do get dressed and get out and do something wonderful with either a good friend or a daughter (who might be both).

It will happen. You will have time to think a full thought (though you may not remember how to do so). And apparently, your coffee may still grow cold sitting next to you as you catch up on email and social media. I think that is what I did this morning, though I think I was also doing some self-care brain dumping that looked more like a catatonic state.

But now, a shower, and a date with my favorite youngest daughter that may include some pampering and some more sloth-like activity. And a big, fat burger because … yeah, my stomach just growled again and I am slowly moving up the Maslow’s Heirarchy of Needs.

I hope you enjoy your day, however it plays out. I know I will.

About TinaLBPorter

I write poetry and blog at www.tinalbporter.com. And I'm thrilled to be writing with you.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost 1:00 on a Saturday

  1. Pingback: Flying a Kite | Long thoughts

Comments are closed.